AN Forums

Doctor Who / Class (BBC America)


#101

Doctor Who is coming to the Colonies!

Deadline Hollywood wrote:

Read it all http://www.deadline.com/2010/10/dr-who-coming-to-america-for-2-episodes/.


#102

Here is something I didn’t know. David Tennant, Dr. #10, will be playing the role of former horror actor Peter Vincent(formerly played by Roddy McDowell) in the upcoming remake of Fright Night.
Slick


#103

Just saw the commercial for this. The new Doctor Who Christmas Special “A Christmas Carol” will air on December 25th at 9pm.

http://bbcamerica.com/shows/doctor-who/episodes/2010-special-a-christmas-carol.jsp

http://www.bbcamerica.com/shows/doctor-who/video/new-series-videos.jsp?bcpid=72484309001&bclid=59272646001&bctid=681516892001


#104

dragonrider_cody wrote:

[quote]Just saw the commercial for this. The new Doctor Who Christmas Special “A Christmas Carol” will air on December 25th at 9pm.

http://bbcamerica.com/shows/doctor-who/episodes/2010-special-a-christmas-carol.jsp

http://www.bbcamerica.com/shows/doctor-who/video/new-series-videos.jsp?bcpid=72484309001&bclid=59272646001&bctid=681516892001[/quote]

Great news Cody. The Christmas specials are always good. Now if they will only bring back Primevil.
Slick


#105

Thanks Cody! Looking forward to this one!


#106

Just for Fun

[video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zc69Om-vxxI&feature=grec_index[/video]

[video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UAKPTiN81_E&feature=related[/video]

[video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XGOnoB5eHJw&feature=related[/video]

[video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2FJW-WTvogA&feature=related[/video]


#107

Reminder -

[size=5]Doctor Who Christmas Special[/size]

BBCA

Saturday, December 25 @ 9:00pm ET/8:00pm CT AND Midnight ET/11:00pm CT
Sunday, December 26 @ 3:00am ET/2:00am CT

Saturday, January 1 @ 8:00pm ET/7:00pm CT AND 11:00pm ET/10:00pm CT
Sunday, January 2 @ 2:00am ET/1:00am CT

It’s Who-watching at its finest! :laugh:


#108

It was awesome!! I even cried at one part -

When Abigail sang that one last time. The song was so beautiful and the one that played her - Katherine Jenkins - was just perfect for the role.

And the preview for next season looked great!


#109

LadyOfWicca wrote:

[quote]It was awesome!! I even cried at one part -

When Abigail sang that one last time. The song was so beautiful and the one that played her - Katherine Jenkins - was just perfect for the role.

And the preview for next season looked great![/quote]

I didn’t cry but basically, I concur with all that. And lol at “we’re in Paris!” I’ve never seen a Stetson look more out of place on anyone.


#110

PretearHimeno wrote:

I laughed really hard at that. I can’t wait for next season!!


#111

But we all know Matt Smith is really…

[spoiler]The Fonz

Aaaye![/spoiler]


#112

Finally saw the Christmas Special! He’s gotten really good at piloting that time machine, but if I listed everything that I had a problem with in this episode, it’d take away from the fact that I really did enjoy it. Plus, there may have even been the pretense of a tear forming during the end of the episode.

Also, he stole my idea of a shark lead sleigh!


#113

I also saw the Christmas special, which happens to be the first episode of Doctor Who I’ve ever seen. I feel compelled to catch up with the show, but Wikipedia tells me that there have been 770 episodes so far…

I’ve no idea what to do.


#114

Really the only negative thing I can say about it, is that Amy was so underused. Also, the shark drawn carriage at the end made me face/palm.


#115

Hentai wrote:

[quote]I also saw the Christmas special, which happens to be the first episode of Doctor Who I’ve ever seen. I feel compelled to catch up with the show, but Wikipedia tells me that there have been 770 episodes so far…

I’ve no idea what to do.[/quote]

I would suggest watching the newer episodes with the ninth doctor that began in 2005. You can always watch the older eps later on. Many of those are rare or hard to find. And sadly, some have even been lost/destroyed.


#116

I liked the shark pulled sleigh! Of course I have always liked sharks for some reason, very fascinating creatures.


#117

I’d just start with the George Eccleston doctor episodes, which is the start of the new Doctor Who series. You can watch the old episodes if you want to, they’re honestly just as good, but it’s not really necessary. Plus if you’re a perfectionist when it comes to watching a series, it’s really hard since BBC didn’t foresee consumers having access to home media, and burned most the material from the first and some of the second Doctor’s seasons. I think all the audio exists somewhere though… Either way, I’d just start with Season 1 of the new series.


#118

[video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpe1Ywz8azM[/video]

One odd fact, I am one day older than Matt Smith…

[video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=edlrtit6GFI&NR=1[/video]


#119

Hentai wrote:

[quote]I also saw the Christmas special, which happens to be the first episode of Doctor Who I’ve ever seen. I feel compelled to catch up with the show, but Wikipedia tells me that there have been 770 episodes so far…

I’ve no idea what to do.[/quote]

In addition to what others have said, “http://www.thinkgeek.com/tshirts-apparel/unisex/popculture/988c/”.

Mine was Tom Baker.

I recommend watching one episode at random from each of the previous Doctors to get a feel for what each actor did for the character.

-Joe


#120

My first Doctor was Matt Smith’s as well, and it’s kind of true that you’ll never forget your first, because it kind of sets the tone for your image of what the Doctor should be. Even though I’ve seen every broadcast episode/movie of the 9th/10th Doctor, it’s still Smith that represents how I see the Doctor.

That being said Baker is a dick, but the few episodes I’ve seen with him in it are good.