I'm new to Anime

I came here because I love zombie themed movies, and saw an advertisement for High School of the Dead (which was great). I’m interested to know what other anime series are worth watching too. I would prefer the mature/violent types, but I also appreciate well written/off the wall type stories too. I’m new to Anime in general, so any suggestions?

Welcome to you! You’ve come to the right place. Pretty much everything here is great and would most likely be to your taste.

You might enjoy The Skull Man, Elfen Lied, Gilgamesh, Legend of the Dark King: A fist of the North Star Story, Pet Shop of Horrors, Hell Girl, Shigofumi, Le Portrait de Petite Cossette, Canaan, Ghost Hound, Princess Resurrection, Demon King Daimao, Samurai Girls, Mezzo and a couple of funny off the wall ones are Dokkoida? and Kampfer. The list is too long! And I am probably missing a few. You can check out the “Anime” and “Other Anime” sections here on the forum for more info if you like.

Hope to see you around and if you have any questions, just ask! Someone will always be around to answer.

Well welcome to TAN and I suggest 11 eyes very good anime and I second LadyofWicca on Elfen Lied if you like blood and violence that’s a must see.

The inhabitants of Planet TAN bid you a warm and fuzzy welcome.
Now for some anime recs.

[size=4]Here on TAN:[/size]
Mature/violent
Canaan
Golgo 13
The Skull Man
Area 88
Legend of the Dark King

Well written/off the wall
Ghost Stories
Rune Soldier
Super Milk Chan
The Fuccons
Maria Holic